Fieldnote Extravaganza: Post One

Bookstore Field Notes, page 1

Bookstore Fieldnotes, page 1

Here we go. The following is my first attempt at translating my fieldnotes (taken at a bookstore) into full, descriptive sentences.

There were three total students sitting at the tables on the second floor of the bookstore. There was one student per table. Out of the three students present, two were white females, and one was a white male. Out of the three students, one of the females and the male were on laptops; the other female was working out of a notebook. The chairs situated at each table (two per table) were old-fashioned looking. They had double arm rests and, in the middle of the backing of the chair, a distressed Rowan crest was visible, giving the area in which the chairs resided an “old, cozy library” feel. The fact that each table housed only two chairs made me wonder about the traffic the upstairs portion accumulates. That is, two chairs per table does not lend itself to practical group work. Though groups could rearrange chairs, it seemed, based on the frail, antique quality of the chairs, rearranging anything would be frowned upon. Thus, it would be logical to assume that students interested in working individually would come to this location. After taking in the desks, chairs, and people, I realized I had taken in enough of the area to get a general feel and decided to start walking around.

Bookstore Field Notes, page 3

Bookstore Fieldnotes, page 2

I continued moving through the area from left to right. I made my way over to a shelf that housed calculators, pens, highlighters, and other basic writing needs. I saw a white male around twenty years old with blond, honey-wheat hair that was spiked up in front and who was meandering through the aisles silently. He was wearing a blue zip-up sweatshirt. He was walking around silently, and I wanted to approach him, introduce myself as a research student and ask, “Can you tell me what you are doing here?” Unfortunately, I could not will myself to do it. Though he looked over a few times, I stared at the pens as though they were very interesting. When he walked away, I felt a mixture of disappointment and relief.

I walked through an aisle completely devised of binders on both sides of the shelves. Half of the binders had “Rowan University” stamped on them, and the other half were plain, colored binders. The row looked very neat and stacked.

As I continued walking, I hit a row marked “Study Aides.” There were books on the ACT, AP 2014 Exam, LSATs, GREs, and GMATs. At first, I wondered why there were AP exam books, as everyone who goes to Rowan has already passed high school and then realized that the bookstore is open to the public, as well, and anyone living in the surrounding area interested in these subjects would be able to access them.

Leave a Reply

